蜱虫和心丝虫预防

冬天终于结束,春天带来温暖的天气,绿草和鲜花。 但春天同时还带来了跳蚤,蜱虫和蚊子。

每年我们都会发现蜱虫的数量在不断增加。 蜱虫可以伴随鸟类,老鼠和鹿等传播,可以将许多疾病传染给宠物和人类,包括莱姆病。 如果不及时治疗,莱姆病会导致心脏,神经系统,皮肤和关节等更多疾病。这些疾病可持续数月,数年甚至终生。

温度升至零上四度以后,蜱虫会变得非常活跃。即使在“冬季”,也会让宠物和人处于危险之中。 Milliken动物诊所建议您每年对宠物实施蜱虫药预防。

跳蚤是令人烦恼的寄生虫,可以迅速充斥家里各个地方。 跳蚤叮咬可引起宠物不断抓痒进而导致大片毛发脱落皮肤红肿及疼痛。 跳蚤也可引起皮肤过敏,并传播其他寄生虫,如绦虫。一只跳蚤可以在很短的时间内产下数千个卵。所以早期预防是关键。本诊所备有防治跳蚤的药物,可以预防或清除跳蚤。诊所医生会在给宠物看病时帮助您找到合适的治疗方法。

心丝虫是一种6英寸的蠕虫,生活在心脏和为肺部供血血管中。心丝虫由蚊子传播,可危及生命。 同样的,早期预防是保护您的宠物的关键。 一旦确定您的宠物目前对心丝虫呈阴性(采取少量血液样本),医生就可对它们实使预防计划。

诊所医生会帮助您选择每月一次的预防产品,以防止这些寄生虫(一种或多种,包括一些肠道寄生虫)。这可安排在当您给宠物进行年度验血时进行,一起选择最适合您的宠物的产品。

请致电416-292-7804联系我们安排预约!

预约

Tick and Heartworm Prevention

Winter is finally over and spring will bring warm weather, green grass, and flowers. But with the joy of spring also comes fleas, ticks, and mosquitoes.

Every year we are seeing an increase in the number of ticks on our pets. Ticks can be found traveling on birds, mice, and deer and are responsible for transmitting many diseases to our pets and to us including Lyme disease. Lyme disease can cause problems with the heart, nervous system, skin, and joints for months, years, or even for life if untreated.

Ticks can become active after the temperature rises above zero, which puts your pet and you at risk even in the “winter” months. Milliken Animal Clinic recommends your pet be on year round tick prevention medication.

Fleas are annoying parasites that can quickly take over your home. Flea bites can cause your pet to have patchy hair loss and red and painful skin from constant scratching. Fleas may also cause skin allergies and can transmit other parasites, such as tapeworms. One flea can lay thousands of eggs in a very short time. So early prevention is the key. We have flea medication that can prevent or get rid of fleas. Our doctors will help you find the right treatment during an appointment.

Heartworm is a 6 inch worm that lives in the heart and blood vessels that supply blood to the lungs. Heartworm is transmitted by mosquitoes and can be life threatening. Again, early prevention is the key to protect your loved one. Once we determine your dog is currently negative for heartworm (with a small blood sample), we will put him/her on a prevention program.

Our doctors will help you choose prevention products that are easily given once a month to prevent one or more of these parasites (including some intestinal parasites). When you come in for your pet’s annual blood test, together we can choose the product most appropriate for you and your pet.

Please call us at: 416-292-7804 to schedule an appointment convenient for you!

Book an Appointment